Available 24/7 for a Free Consultation

(330) 787-9841

Ohio DUI / OVI FAQ

What is the blood alcohol limit in Ohio?

  • General BAC limit: 0.08%
  • Commercial Vehicle Drivers: 0.04%
  • Drivers Under Age 21 ("Zero Tolerance"): 0.02%
  • "Enhanced Penalty" BAC Level: 0.17%

Does Ohio have an "implied consent" law?

Yes. Refusing a BAC test in Ohio will result in automatic suspension of your driver's license.

What Are the Penalties for OVI in Ohio?

  • 1st Offense Possible Penalties: At least 72 consecutive hours in jail; court license suspension from six months to three years; $200 to $10,000 fine.
  • 2nd Offense Possible Penalties: At least 10 consecutive days in jail; court license suspension from one to five years; $200 to $10,000 fine.
  • 3rd Offense Possible Penalties: At least 30 consecutive days in jail; license suspension from one year to 10 years; vehicle immobilization or forfeiture; $200 to $10,000 fine.
  • 4th Offense Possible Penalties: At least 60 consecutive days in jail; court license suspension from three years to permanent revocation; $250 license reinstatement fee; vehicle immobilization or forfeiture; $200 to $10,000 fine.

What Is Ohio's "Open Container Law"?

"Open container" laws apply to driver and passengers. No open container of alcohol (meaning the seal was even partially broken) shall be in the possession or within reach of any driver or passenger in a vehicle.

Categories