If You’re Facing an Ohio OVI Charge
October 13, 2023
An Ohio OVI charge can lead to very serious consequences that can directly affect your future. Consulting with an experienced Ohio OVI attorney early in the process can translate to an advantageous outcome that upholds your rights and best interests.
A OVI is a criminal charge that can have lasting effects on your life. Consider the following:
- A first OVI charge comes with fines of from $375 to $1,075 and jail time of from 3 days to 6 months.
- A second OVI comes with fines of from $525 to $1,625 and jail time of from 10 days to 6 months.
- A third offense comes with fines of from $850 to $2,750 and jail time of from 30 days to one year.
It’s important to note that the higher your blood alcohol concentration, the more serious the consequences can be.
Your OVI case will be unique to the circumstances involved, and your defense will be similarly unique, but most fall into categories like the following:
- An inaccurate, poorly calibrated, or faulty breathalyzer device
- A stop that was illegal in the first place, which requires reasonable suspicion
- Poorly conducted, inaccurate, or invalid field sobriety testing
- The defendant was not in physical control of the vehicle
- The defendant was not allowed to call an attorney
Being accused of OVI and being proven guilty of OVI are two very different things.
Yes, the fact is that you can challenge a breathalyzer test. In fact, The New York Times reports that breathalyzers aren’t to be trusted. They share that, while breathalyzers are a bedrock of the criminal justice system, they are less than reliable. Because the results of breathalyzers are often skewed, it’s well within your rights to challenge the results.
If you’re facing a marijuana possession charge, you have questions, and the answers to our FAQs may help.
Yes, Ohio does. While the nation’s stance on marijuana has eased up considerably over the years, recreational marijuana remains illegal in Ohio, and the law is fully enforced.
If you are caught with less than 100 grams of marijuana, it’s a misdemeanor that doesn’t carry jail time. If, however, you’re caught with from 100 to 199 grams of marijuana, it’s a fourth-degree misdemeanor, which carries up to 30 days in jail.
In Ohio, it is a felony to possess 200 grams of marijuana or more. The related penalties and fines increase as the amount of marijuana in your possession increases.
An Experienced Ohio OVI Attorney Can Help
The formidable OVI attorneys at DiCaudo, Pitchford & Yoder – proudly serving Akron – have the experience, legal insight, and drive to skillfully advocate for your case’s best possible resolution, and we’re on your side. Learn more by contacting or calling us at 330-522-1966 today.